Leibster Award Questions – Or, How to Get to Know a Random Blogger

Kendra’s Questions for Us at Our Blogs, because she said we could.
And because I like lists of random questions.
(Like I needed an excuse to answer yet another list of questions.  It’s not like my Facebook page is *filled* with these types of Notes. LOL)
1. Where do you live? And why do you live there?
I live in Nebraska.  We moved here for college and the Latin Mass.  Turns out that Lincoln is the best place in the US to be anyway, so it wasn’t a bad move!  We have a tiny white cottage with a large green yard.  Heaven.

 

2. What are you currently watching and/or reading?

Courtesy Calls Again and Restoring the Family and the latest issue of Cigar Aficionado.  Because my husband loves his cigars, and I love his cigar parties – so I best keep up to date on what’s new.

 Currently I’m watching through the series of Murder, She Wrote.  I ❤ that show.
3. What kind of Catholic are you: cradle, or convert? (Or considering?)
I’m a convert from Episcopalianism in 2002.  The term Episcopalian bothers me though.  We – that being my priest, most of the parishioners, and I – always considered ourselves as High Church Anglican.   Anywho…my family and I are now your basic practicing Catholic family who attend the Latin Mass and celebrate the Old Calendar.
4. Can you point to one moment or experience that made you a practicing Catholic? (Or want to be?)
I can narrow it down to two key points.
First – I like to study religions and from a young age I was fascinated with Jehovah’s Witnesses; mostly because my best friend was one and my youth group bad mouthed her Kingdom Hall a lot, which I didn’t understand – but their mean-spirited attitude irked me to no end.  I entered into a Witness Bible study at some point and went on to discover that Witnesses do not believe in the eternal nature of the soul, among other things.
For the first time I found myself asking an important question.  “Have Christians (and Jews before them) always believed in the concept of an eternal soul, or was this actually introduced at a later point in time“?  In short, I began to wonder what the first Christians actually did believe – because we can argue about what the Bible says till the cows come home… For me, asking this type of question became the foundation for what happened next.  It was the first time I could see the relevance of what the first century Christians believed.
Second, most of us at my church growing up referred to ourselves as Anglo-Catholics – we pretty much considered ourselves fully Catholic, just of the English variety.  The term Anglo-Catholic was simply a title we used to relate to the Church and to separate ourselves from Protestantism, the subject of which most of us would get rather snobby about.  (Anglicans are so interestingly snobby.)  Our title was all semantics, but that is the gist of it.
After marrying a Southern Baptist Minister’s son, my new husband and I began to debate our different outlooks and practices, especially the reception of communion.  I had grown up receiving communion every week during a lavish ceremony that was designed around the offering and reception of this sacrament.  The church service existed solely for, and evolved completely around, the Consecration and reception of the Blessed Sacrament.
At church with my husband, on the other hand, we had oyster crackers and grape juice four times a year (I think) in a quick, uncomfortable interruption of a church service that was based in whole around a sermon.  This concept was so foreign to me, and very irreverent.  To give you an idea of the level of respect that we had for communion at his church, just know that he and I both were in the habit of finishing off the grape juice after the sermon, and popping a handful of the oyster crackers out of the box as a quick snack while cleaning the kitchen…  It’s not like either would last until the next time communion rolled around.  The reception of this communion meant nothing to my husband and I could understand why given the fact that it was something done once a quarter with everyday foods in such a short, quick flippant way.  Even I couldn’t consider it anywhere close to the same thing as what I was used to…  We would have never poured the sacramental wine down any ordinary drain, for example, but only down a piscina. (Actually, we’d only pour the water used to wash out the chalice down the piscina, just in case there was any trace of the Sacrament left.) Here we poured the extra cups of already-poured grape juice down the dirty kitchen sink.  (What’s funny is how horrified I was and how badly I was shaking the first time I poured out the grape juice and how horribly guilty I felt.  But, alas, in the Baptist church there was no form of confession… LOL)  It was so ordinary, so irreverent and so infrequent that I really began to miss the mystery and majesty of a liturgy.
Anyway, at some point one of our larger marital arguments had me running to my priest with questions.  He pulled out a yellow-covered book and turned to a page with excerpts from several of the Early Church Fathers who went into detail about exactly what the first century Christians believed about Communion – and it was clearly Catholic, as in the Church of Rome.  He gave me the book so I could reference it in discussion and I took it home to read.  After turning the page and following the rest of the writings quoted from St. Ignatius of Antioch it was clear how he felt about the Bishop of Rome…  I purchased a set of books titled Faith of the Early Fathers and read. From there I began asking about authority (which we technically believed in) and lineage of priests (which, again, Episcopalians technically believe in) and based on the answers the Episcopal church provided my decision to become Roman Catholic was pretty easy.  It was all study and understanding of doctrine from the Church’s perspective from that point and I was Catholic in a year and half after taking classes and passing a written test (no RCIA at this little Church).
St. Ignatius on the Eucharist:

“Consider how contrary to the mind of God are the heterodox in regard to the grace of God which has come to us. They have no regard for charity, none for the widow, the orphan, the oppressed, none for the man in prison, the hungry or the thirsty. They abstain from the Eucharist and from prayer, because they do not admit that the Eucharist is the flesh of our Savior Jesus Christ, the flesh which suffered for our sins and which the Father, in His graciousness, raised from the dead.”

“Letter to the Smyrnaeans”, paragraph 6. circa 80-110 A.D.

St. Ignatius on the Bishop of Rome, talking about the Perpetual Succession of Bishops since the Apostles:
Since, however, it would be very tedious, in such a volume as this, to reckon up the successions of all the Churches, we do put to confusion all those who, in whatever manner, whether by an evil self-pleasing, by vainglory, or by blindness and perverse opinion, assemble in unauthorized meetings; [we do this, I say, ] by indicating that tradition derived from the apostles, of the very great, the very ancient, and universally known Church founded and organized at Rome by the two most glorious apostles, Peter and Paul; as also [by pointing out] the faith preached to men, which comes down to our time by means of the successions of the bishops. For it is a matter of necessity that every Church should agree with this Church, on account of its pre- eminent authority, that is, the faithful everywhere, inasmuch as the apostolical tradition has been preserved continuously by those [faithful men] who exist everywhere.
Against Heresies Book III, Chapter III:
A Refutation of the Heretics, from the Fact That,
in the Various Churches, a Perpetual Succession of Bishops Was Kept Up...
 
5. How many pairs of shoes do you own?
Three.  Two pairs for church, and one pair for around the house.  I borrow my husband’s shoes/boots for anything else because if there was anything I didn’t care for, it would be shoes.  LOL  My feet are too big for anything simultaneously pretty and comfortable.  If this weren’t so I’d probably love shoes.

 6. Are you a good dancer?

Um.  No, probably not.  Can I do Drill Team?  You betcha.

 

7. Who usually drives, you or your husband?

When we are both in the car, he does. 🙂

 

8. What’s your favorite holiday and how do you celebrate it?

Oh!  Tough one!  Do we have to have just one?  For us Holidays (aside from Christmas and Easter) run in threes.  Hallowtide (All Hallow’s Eve, All Hallow’s Day and All Souls Day) is a favorite around here.  St. Patrick’s Day, the Assumption, Candlemas and Lady Day are also other favorites.  Hallowtide is the one we go all out for typically, aside from Christmas.

 

9. Which is correct? Left or right?

Left. Most definitely on the left.  Besides, how in the world could guests see all this work if it was faced backwards?

 

10. Do you have any scars?

Yes.

  • One on my left hand from when a doctor removed my cast due to broken arm #1.  
  • Some small dot-shaped scars on my left knee from orthoscopic surgery.
  • One on my left should-blade from when a giant dog ran me down and tried to eat me – no joke.  (My husband’s dream dog?  A Rottweiler.  My dream dog?  I’m pretty sure you mean dream cat.  That would be a Parlor Panther.)
I jest.  While I’m notably more of a cat person I do still love dogs – especially the big ones.  But that attack when I was seven does make me jumpy around some dogs.  I want either a Doberman Pinscher (same dog that bit me, actually) or a white Afghan Hound.
You know, I’m just now realizing that I may have a problem with the left side of my body.  Everything painful and bad happens there… Hmmm…
11. What’s the most famous thing you’ve ever done?
Famous?  Nothing, I’m sure.  How about infamous?  Would stating my opinion without qualm count?  I am working on that, I promise.
Wasn’t that fun?  I’m such a list person.
I guess we’re supposed to tag fellow bloggers to participate, but since I’m new at blogging and just jumping in please consider yourself tagged, and let me know in the comments.  I love reading about others and what they like to share. 🙂
3 comments

    • Thank you. 🙂 Her questions are fun!

      This was not my conversion story; that’s a very convoluted topic – but those were the two more important key points. So much easier to explain than the whole story. LOL It gets complicated when you’re coming from the families that I came from.

      Thanks for commenting, Christine! I enjoy your blog so much. 🙂 Hope you are enjoying your new home and baby!

Leave a Reply

